2016 Advent Quiz

The 2016 Advent Quiz

Thanks to all who entered this year’s Advent quiz, I hope you enjoyed trying to answer the questions and it kept the old grey matter working over the festive period. A big thanks (as always) to our quizmasters Don Dawber and Dawn Sharples without whom there would not be a quiz at all.

In the end there were a number of people who got full marks so it came down to a tie-breaker. Those that got full marks were sent the photo shown below and asked to provide a 10 digit GR for the spot the photo was taken from – not as easy as it sounds! The winner? A big well done to Joe Jackson who managed to pip the others to the post and win the big prize, whichever it is he choses. The answers are shown below in red (to put you out of your misery 🙂 )

The tie-breaker (which was for those that scored full marks):

Give the 10 digit Grid Reference fro the spot this photo was taken from:

NY 22717 05919

Sunday 25th December

For the final question name the locations of the 8 photos of cairns/inscriptions/plaques:

i) 

Robinson’s Cairn

ii) 

Striding Edge (High Spying How)

iii) 

Millican Dalton’s Cave, Castle Crag

iv) 

Memorial on Great Gable

v) 

Loughrigg Tarn

vi) 

John Bell’s Banner, Caudale Moor

vii) 

Falcon Crag

viii) 

Birkett Fell

Saturday 24th December

Glaramara

Friday 23rd December

day-23-2

Bannerdale Crags, Souther Fell and Scales Tarn

Thursday 22nd December

 

day-22-2

Great Rigg, Seat Sandal and Grisedale Tarn

Wednesday 21st December

day-21

Lonscale Fell, Skiddaw, Dodd, Ullock Pike, Carl Side, Long Side, Skiddaw Little Man

Tuesday 20th December

day-20

High Stile (Pillar also accepted)

Monday 19th December

path

Dow Crag and either Brim Fell or Coniston Old Man

Sunday 18th December

summit

Raise

Saturday 17th December

day-seventeen

Lord’s Seat

Friday 16th December

day-sixteen

Crinkle Crags (Long Top or Second Crinkle) 

Thursday 15th December

day-fifteen

Pike o’ Blisco and Cold Pike

Wednesday 14th December

day-fourteen

Sheffield Pike

Tuesday 13th December

day-13

Scar Crags

Monday 12th December

looking back to Steel Knotts

Steel Knotts, Pikewassa

Sunday 11th December

dsc06915

Harter Fell (Kentmere)

Saturday 10th December

greensmall

St. Sunday Crag and Place Fell

Friday 9th December

day-nine

Catstycam and Striding Edge

Thursday 8th December

day-eight

The Ull Stone

Wednesday 7th December

day-seven

Grisedale Pike and Hopegill Head

Tuesday 6th December

day-six

Kentmere Reservoir, Ill Bell, Nan Bield Pass

Monday 5th December

day-five

Low Birker Tarn, Green Crag

Sunday 4th December

day-four

Ill Crag, Esk Pike, Hardknott Roman Fort

Saturday 3rd December

day-three

Lord’s Rake, Scafell Pike

Friday 2nd December

day-two

Hindscarth, Robinson

Thursday 1st December

day-one

Scott Fell, Red Pike, Pillar, Yewbarrow, Robinson, Long Side, Skiddaw, Kirk Fell, Brandreth, Great Gable, Lingmell